Pompushky-Ukrainian Doughnuts

IMG_2371 IMG_2373Hi – I’m back!  I’ve been out helping my Mom recover from a hip replacement since this summer and continuing to do so this winter.  In fact, she and my father are living with us this winter.  This is giving me a great opportunity to learn more recipes from her and to try new and exciting dishes.  My father is Ukrainian and tonight we celebrate the Eastern Orthodox Christmas Eve.  The favorite treat of the holiday is Pompushky – a simple fried doughnut, but oh so yummy!  Here’s the recipe – enjoy and  Veseloho Rizdva!

Pompushky

2 cups milk, scalded

5 tbsp. margarine or butter flavored Crisco

2 pkg. of yeast

1 cup hot water

1 tsp. sugar

¾ cup sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp. salt

5 + cups flour

Vegetable oil for deep frying

Melt margarine/Crisco in scalded milk.  Let cool.  Add yeast and sugar to hot water, set aside to activate.  In large mixing bowl, mix eggs and sugar together, add milk mixture and yeast mixture.  Slowly add flour in one cup at a time.  Knead until stiff and dough comes off hands.  Let the dough raise for one hour.  Punch down and rise again.  Turn out softball size pieces of dough on floured surface. Roll out to ¼ – ½ inch thick.  Cut out in 3 inch diameter circles (I use a drinking glass or canning jar lid).  Place on cookie sheets and cover to rise.  Heat oil to 350-365 degrees in a Dutch oven or large pot.  Drop 3-6 at a time depending on how big pot is.  Once brown, flip and brown other side. It doesn’t take long.  Drain on paper towels.  Shake with sugar and serve.  These freeze well and you can also microwave for 15-20 seconds, shake in sugar and they are just like fresh.

3 thoughts on “Pompushky-Ukrainian Doughnuts

  1. Jessica says:

    Have you ever made these stuffed with a sweet cabbage or sauerkraut? I’m trying to find a recipe for pampushky that my fiance has been getting every year from the Ukrainian church where he grew up (until about 4 years ago). I’d love to try and make these for him! Thanks so much.

    Like

    • ChefAimster says:

      I myself haven’t made them that way, but I do work with an individual who may have the recipe. Next time I see them, I will try and get it. Thanks for checking out my site.

      Like

Leave a Reply

