Me Want Cookies…

CookiesOk – so I’ve been on a sabbatical, per say, from contributing to my blog.  A sabbatical meaning busier than all get out with a freshman in high school, work, holidays, work, flu invasion, work, flu invasion during the holidays, work, any of the aforementioned.  Well anyways, I’m back.  And I’ve been cooking…just check my bathroom scale.  For some reason, I received a copy of the magazine “Self” in the mail.  Knowing me, you’d be like…wrong address?  That’s what I thought…that or someone is dropping me a hint. Being a glutton for punishment (no pun intended), I decided to flip through it and after so many articles of how to lose inches and tighten this or that, I went right to the back where I know I’d find recipes.  What was I thinking…recipes in a health magazine???? Well low and behold, I did find a recipe for a cookie that looked very tasty and dare I say it…good for me.  Again, knowing me, you’d be saying – Whaaaa??? You hate to bake…you hate to bake so much you pay people to do it for you.  Call it cabin fever, snow blindness or downright boredom, but I made these this weekend and I absolutely love’em.  Hope you do too!

Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies

Reprinted from Self Magazine, December 2012

Makes 20

½ cup whole-wheat flour

¼ cup rolled oats

¼ tsp. baking soda

6 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

6 tbsp. brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla extract

½ cup semi sweet chocolate chips

¼ cup coarsely chopped walnuts

¼ cup dried cherries (I used dried cranberries)

Heat oven to 375°.  In a bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda and cinnamon.  In another bowl, cream butter and sugars until fluffy, 3-5 minutes.  Add egg and vanilla; beat until smooth.  Blend flour mixute into butter mixture.  Stir in chocolate chips, walnuts and cherries/cranberries.  Drop 20 dough balls (1 tbsp. each) onto 2 ungreased cookie sheets, 2 inches apart.  Bake until golden brown for 9 minutes.  Remove from oven; let cool on sheets 3 minutes; then transfer to foil to cool fully.

 

The Skinny:  100 calories per cookie, 6g fat (3g saturated), 11g carbs, 1g fiber, 1g protein
Leave a Reply

