I Have a Nice Pear…Bread Recipe

Falls a’comin and things are settling back down into a routine.  Kids are at school, summer work schedules are back to normal and the harvest is coming in.  I acquired a lovely bunch of pears from my friend Tootsie’s pear tree and remembered my mom used to make a pear bread.  It was absolutely delicious.   I hadn’t had this since I was a teen and let me tell you, it tastes just as delicious as if my own mother made it.  Wonderful by itself — I prefer a slathering of butter,  but my mom likes it with cream cheese.  Here’s the recipe – enjoy!!

_______________________________

    Pear Bread

2 – 3 pears peeled, cored and chopped to equal one cup

½ cup vegetable oil

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

½ cup sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

2 cups shifted all purpose flour

½ tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking powder

¼ tsp. cinnamon

¼ tsp. nutmeg

½ cup chopped walnuts or pecans

(cinnamon and sugar mix to top loaf)

Preheat oven to 350°.  Blend vegetable oil and sugar together, mix in eggs, sour cream and vanilla.  In separate bowl, combine dry ingredients then incorporate into wet.  Once mixed together, fold in pears and nuts.  Put batter into one greased loaf pan and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar mix on top.  Bake for one hour or until done.  Let rest for 15 minutes, remove from pan and let cool completely on wire rack.

4 thoughts on “I Have a Nice Pear…Bread Recipe

    • ChefAimster says:

      If you can’t have dairy I found this tip to create non-dairy sour cream substitute online: Soy-based yogurt can be used in place of sour cream for those looking to eliminate animal-based products from the recipe. Another option is to mix in a blender or food processor, one 10.5 oz package of crumbled tofu with 4 tsp. of lemon juice, 2 tsp. of apple cider vinegar and 1/2 tsp. of salt. Blend this yogurt mixture until smooth and substitute sour cream, cup for cup, as called for in the recipe. Hope this helps!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

