Seafood Season – a.k.a. Lent

Yesterday was Ash Wednesday, the start of Lent, or otherwise known as seafood season.  Taking advantage of the good deals on seafood, I picked up some shrimp for our “meat-free” dinner last night.  In perusing my pantry, I noticed that I did not have any white wine.  I was planning to marinate it white wine, garlic and a little olive oil.  So, I went to plan B.  I just recently bought a new flavored vodka by Pucker-Lemon Lust©.  I’m thinking lemon goes well with seafood and used that instead.  By golly – it came out pretty darn good.  Here’s what I did and it was fast and easy.

___________________________________________________

Lemon Vodka Garlic Shrimp

1 lb. cleaned and deveined 30/40 shrimp

1/8 cup olive oil

1/8 cup Pucker Lemon Lust Vodka©

1 tbsp. jarred minced garlic

Combine all the above in a large Ziploc bag and let it marinate in refrigerator for ½ – 1 hour.

Heat a skillet to medium high heat.  Add 2 tablespoons butter.  When butter starts to bubble, add shrimp.  Stirfry until shrimp are pink-it will be quick.  Do not over cook.  Remove from heat and place on platter.

I served it with a parmesan rice and broccoli side.   I heated up a bag of baby broccoli florets, mixed w/ 2 cups of cooked rice, a couple tablespoons of butter and sprinkled with grated parmesan cheese.  There was enough sauce from the shrimp to drizzle over the rice. Yummo!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

