Soup’s On!

My Saturday mornings consist of watching the Food Network channel and drinking a good ol’ cup of java.  I have my favorite shows and when they aren’t on; I’m usually cooking breakfast and listening to the others in the background.  An episode of The Prairie Lady caught my attention when I learned she was making a broccoli cheese soup.  I am not a “broth” soup kinda gal, but give me creamy, rich and hearty soups with some substance and I’m all in.  I do believe the only real healthy items in this recipe are the broccoli and onion.  The rest speaks for itself…and don’t forget to put extra cheese on top and serve w/ club crackers (reduced fat, of course).  I also included some diced cooked ham.  I tossed it in to heat thru right before serving.  Not sure if I’d do that again…really didn’t add to it.  So, if you want a soup that eats like a meal…this one is sure to stick to your ribs and warm the soul.  It makes about 10 servings – so feel free to freeze leftovers for a quick and hearty supper when you don’t have time to cook.

Enjoy!

 

Broccoli Cheese Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 whole onion, diced
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 1 pinch nutmeg
  • 4 heads broccoli, cut into florets
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 cups grated cheese (mild Cheddar, sharp Cheddar, Jack, etc.)
  • Chicken broth, if needed

Directions

Melt the butter in a pot over medium heat, and then add the onions. Cook the onions for 3 to 4 minutes, and then sprinkle the flour over the top. Stir to combine and cook for 1 minute or so, then pour in the milk and half-and-half. Add the nutmeg, and then the broccoli, a small dash of salt and plenty of black pepper.

Cover and reduce the heat to low. Simmer until the broccoli is tender, 20 to 30 minutes. Stir in the cheese (I only used two cups and saved the third to top the soup with) and allow to melt.

Taste the seasonings and adjust if needed. Then either serve as is, or mash with a potato masher to break up the broccoli a bit, or transfer to a blender in two batches and puree completely (I have an immersion blender that worked beautifully).  Blended it right in the pot). (If you puree in a blender, return the soup to the heat and allow to heat back up. Splash in some chicken broth if needed for thinning.)

Copyright 2012 Television Food Network G.P.
All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

