Let’s NOT Talk Turkey…Part I

I love Thanksgiving, but I’m not a big fan of Turkey.  In fact, I could actually do without it.  I don’t mind a small deep-fried turkey, but it’s the sides of the meal I dig.  This month, I’m focusing on several dishes I make every year.  They have become favorites of my family and friends – handed down from my mom or new one’s I have discovered on my culinary trek.  I was introduced to Tex-Mex Cranberry Salsa when I lived in Chicago (of all places, right…). We had a potluck at my place of employment and a chick, originally from Indiana, brought it as her donation to the meal.  It was good with chips, but it makes an even more outstanding side/relish for your Thanksgiving meal.  The basic recipe is from Ocean Spray; however, I made a few adjustments to my liking.

Tex-Mex Cranberry Salsa

1 16-ounce can Ocean Spray Whole Berry Cranberry Sauce
2 tbsp. canned jalapenos, chopped
4 green onions, sliced
chopped fresh cilantro to your taste
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon lime juice

Combine all ingredients in medium mixing bowl. Refrigerate overnight.  Serve with tortilla chips or as a condiment for poultry or pork. Makes about 2 cups.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

