Peter Piper Would Pick These Pickles!

This summer I grew one – yes one – cucumber plant.  The first picking I haulepickle1d in 30 cukes off of it.  It was not a Kirby or pickling cuke plant, but a salad cuke that produces very few seeds in the cucumber and a nice thin outer skin.  I’m kicking myself that I didn’t keep the plastic thingy that came with it saying exactly what type of plant it was.  I’m thinking it was somehow related to the English cucumber family.  They all average around 12 inches and are somewhat slender.  Knowing that I had to do something with them quick, I poked around on the internet and found this wonderful refrigerator pickle recipe from Cooking Light.  They turned out absolutely tasty and get better and the days go on.  I followed the recipe verbatim except I doubled the brine because it didn’t produce enough liquid to cover the cucumbers.  I also added sliced red bell pepper – because I really like them pickled, too and made it taste like my Mom’s bread and butter recipe.  It is a really easy recipe – I did three batches in one evening.  After three days of them sit in the fridge, I transferred to pint jars.  Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 6      cups thinly sliced pickling cucumbers (about 2 pounds)
  • 2      cups thinly sliced onion
  • 2      cups thinly sliced red, yellow or orange sweet bell pepper*

Brine* (doubled from original recipe)

  • 3      cups white vinegar
  • 1 ½  cup sugar
  • 1 ½  teaspoon salt
  • 1      teaspoon mustard seeds
  • 1      teaspoon celery seeds
  • 1      teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1      teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • ½     teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 8      garlic cloves, thinly sliced

Preparation

Place 3 cups cucumber in a medium glass bowl; top with 1 cup onion and 1 cup of bell pepper. Repeat procedure with the remaining 3 cups cucumber and remaining 1 cup onion and 1 cup of bell pepper.

Combine vinegar and remaining ingredients in a small saucepan; stir well. Bring to a boil; cook 1 minute. Pour over cucumber mixture; let cool. Cover and chill at least 4 days. At this point, you can keep in the bowl you have them in or transfer to pint jars.pickle2

Note: Pickles may be stored in the refrigerator for up to one month.

Kathleen Kanen, Cooking Light
AUGUST 2007

*My addition/change

2 thoughts on “Peter Piper Would Pick These Pickles!

  1. I made these today and you are right, you need to double the brine. My house smells so good and I can’t wait to eat them. When you pour the hot liquid over the pickles they turn a beautiful bright green. Love this recipe. Gonna save this one!

Leave a Reply

